I very rarely buy humous, it’s just so easy to make. And once you’ve nailed it you can really go to town playing with the recipe.

Here’s my basics:

  • 1 tin Chick peas drained
  • ½ – 1 clove garlic
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • A lot more olive oil than you’d expect
  • Salt
  • Smoked paprika (either sweet or spicy)

Blend using a hand held liquidiser. If it is too dry, add more oil. Taste, adjust seasoning (salt/lemon juice/ paprika)

I was taught how to make humous by my very good Greek friend Julian a very long time ago. You may have noticed the lack of tahini. I don’t think it brings much to the party. If I have them I will add sesame seeds. I’ve also used shelled hemp seeds which makes it very creamy and add a soft crunch to it.

Here’s some interesting variations that I like:

  • Use Cannellini beans instead of chick peas. This makes a softer, more liquidy hummus and more neutral in flavour. I recently tried it using cannellini beans and ground almonds and my usually humous hating daughter loved it!
  • Add rose water – be careful not too much! I got the idea from trying rose harissa, and it is fabulous, especially if you go large on the chilli too.
  • Use lemon zest as well as lemon juice
  • Roasted cumin seed is also fabulous, especially if you add in some za’atar and sumac
  • if you really want to go to town, roast a beetroot and blend that in, top with fresh flat leaf parsley or corriander

I always serve it drizzled with more olive oil and a razzle of paprika

 

How do you make yours?

