A few weeks ago we posted a vegan pancake recipe. I’ve been playing around a bit and created this recipe below, which went down very well with the whole family:

1 cup flour (I use spelt or buckwheat)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 tbsp chia
3 tbsp water
1 cup milk of choice (I use hemp milk)
½ tsp vanilla extract
Pinch salt
½ cup frozen raspberries, crumbled
1 tbsp liquid sweetener (such as rice malt syrup/agave/maple syrup)

Combine the chia seeds and water, stir and leave to thicken for 10 minutes.

Combine all the liquid ingredients and mix thoroughly.

Combine all the dry ingredients thoroughly. I like to sieve it just to avoid any clumping.

Mix the liquid and chia gel with the dry ingredients, then add the raspberries. You may need a little more liquid at this point.

Fry in coconut oil

Serve with some Coyo Yogurt, maple syrup, chia jam or raw chocolate sauce. Or you may not need to add anything 🙂 Using the frozen raspberries allows you to crumble them up into the little nodules. The great thing about soft fruit (and bananas) is that you can just pop it straight into the freezer with no prep needed. I’m always on the look out for special or end of the day offers – the raspberries for this recipe were only 75p for a massive 500g punnet!

I think really though I should just bite the bullet and get some raspberry canes in the garden. Yes, I’ll do that 🙂

