I’m a recent convert to matcha and you can read my overview here. I was recommended Matchæologist by a close friend. Matcha, like any quality food is a minefield, and it is great to have someone to guide you though it, someone you can trust and who also has expertise.

Matchæologist keep things simple (we like): they have three grades of Matcha available and various paraphernalia that you will need to make a perfect matcha. They also have instructional videos and a beautiful website. Their instagram feed is also to die for 🙂

IMG_20160812_103737I’ve plumped for their base level matcha – Meiko – to start. And if this is the basic available, then I’m totally hooked and can’t wait to try their others. Meiko is described as ‘full-bodied with subtle floral aromas’. Now I’m no matchællier (I’m trademarking that right now!) and my matcha craft is naive and undeveloped, but this was so much smoother than others I have tried. Some matcha can be quite bitter and harsh, but this was dreamy.

Aside from making tea, the flavours started to get my inventocon running. I think the flavours will go well with vanilla, banana and chocolate. I instantly tried it with my chocolate protein smoothie and here’s another variant here:

IMG_20160815_104639

Matcha Green Smoothie:

  • 2g Matcha
  • 30g Hemp Protein Powder
  • 1 Banana
  • 5g Lucuma
  • 300ml Coconut Water

This was super smooth and creamy, and very filling too. A great way to get over that 11 o’clock lump!

I can’t wait to make some matcha chocolate truffles 🙂 Watch this space.

 

