vegan | gluten-free | sugar-free

Makes about 16 biscuits

I saw a recipe the other day which used bananas instead of eggs. I was interested, but I didn’t really want to have banana biscuits. I tried it out anyway, with a few twists and alterations, and was pleasantly surprised.

These are ridiculously simple to make and were pretty much wiped out as soon as they came out of the oven. I’ll be working on this recipe some more in the future so keep your eyes open for more twists and upgrades.

Pop the oven on at 180°C.

Ingredients:

  • 2 large, very ripe bananas
  • 1.5 cups oats (use GF oats if you want this to be gluten-free)
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter (I use Pip & Nut, it’s palm oil free)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (Ndali is amazing!)
  • Pinch sea salt
  • 1 bar raw chocolate (I use Vanoffe Dark)

 

Method:

Mash up the bananas really well. Add the oats, peanut butter, salt and vanilla and mix well. Chop the raw chocolate into small pieces, add to the mixture and mix.

Line two baking sheets with paper and splodge the mixture on, makes about 16 biscuits. I just like to free form the mixture with a spoon onto the sheets. Then half way through cooking, I flatten them to a more regular biscuit shape.

Cook for a maximum of 12-15 minutes depending on your oven. Drizzle when cool with a little melted chocolate if you like.

IMG_20160817_222236

Afterward:

These were seriously yummy and chewy. Everyone loved them and was really surprised that they were sugar free and vegan. And the peanut butter and chocolate meant that they were not too banany. Next time I’m going to double or even triple the peanut butter. I’m also interested in trying some with finely grated carrot and orange and also courgette and matcha. What variants are you going to try?

 

